T-SQL Tuesday #13 – Business Briefs

The final T-SQL Tuesday of 2010 is hosted by Steve “SQL Server Central” Jones, and is on the loosely-defined subject of “What issues have you had in interacting with the business to get your job done?”

As some of you may know, I wasn’t always a full-time shiny happy DBA contractor.  I’ve spent my time working in full-time “permanent” gigs run by people who, while obviously not unintelligent, didn’t necessarily seem to know how to run a business or how to manage people.  This post therefore isn’t going to be about SQL Server, for which I apologise, but about Life in the Real World.  And it’s probably going to make me nauseous.

“You must save money!”.  OK, I can do that, given half a chance.  But I do need *half* a chance…  but when I come to you with a project that has no upfront costs, and will deliver a significant (30% at least) saving on the phone bill, and you block it?  What the hell am I supposed to do?

Don’t remind me about the new PC policy at that place, either.  New PCs went to the top of the corporate food chain, and the old stuff filtered down.  The guys at the top of the food chain didn’t need that sort of power to read their email and look at the BBC website – they didn’t even need to use MS Word very much, as they would dictate most of their work…  And yet, the guys at the bottom of the food chain, who were running heavy duty document production and data entry systems, would be running on 4 year old kit if they were lucky.  I kept getting knocked back when I pointed out the ridiculousness of this, so I “borrowed” one of the data entry / doc production guys, and set him up on my computer rather than his own, and let him run for a morning.  Show the business a 500% improvement in production, and only then did they listened to reason.

I’m glad I don’t work there any more.  Mind you, nobody works there any more…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T-SQL Tuesday #13 – Business Briefs

  1. Jaimie says:

    Ah, the corporate PC assignment policies based on seniority and/or size of moustache.

    In a very-previous company with an old fashioned Yorkshire attitude, I was a bright young IT manager and thus responsible for that sort of thing. After seeing the first few decent workstations change desks overnight, I learnt to sneak the poor minions the highest-end machines whenever I could – taking advantage of software rebuilds to put fresh innards into dusty old cases in the departments with the worst bosses.

    It kept me entertained, and the workers loved^w might have thanked me for it once. Possibly.

  2. Pingback: T-SQL Tuesday #13 Roundup « Voice of the DBA

Leave a Reply

